2005-02-04

nerd loaf

ok, the weirdly weirdest.

I wrote about my falling in love dream, right. Busy shrugging it off, thinking about other stuff... anyways, I went to the religion conference yesterday. Got there 15 minutes late, the first presentations had already started. So I walk into the conference room with the speakers I was interested in, and who is sitting at the table at the front...

The Person From My Dream.

i'm not kidding.

I nearly pissed my pants and fell over, but instead my stomach flipped and my heart started racing and I quickly sat down and tried not to stare. I could feel him looking at me. (well, that could have been my imagination)

anyways, when he got up to do his presentation I had better opportunity for a closer scrutiny, and it turns out he was a fairly close representation of the "man of my dream", but not exact (b/c, I realized, the man in my dream was the british character from the Shipping News, b/c I was trying to remember something in my dream, by relating it to the shipping news, and so the man of my dream morphed into that blonde character).

additionally, when he started talking, he revealed a very strange voice. sort of high-pitched and w/ a weird accent. but he presented an awesome paper. very excellent writer.

Needless to say, I spent the rest of the day pretending I wasn't staring at him and avoiding him simultaneously. But then, at almost the last minute, I was musing to myself about my actions and how I NEVER talk to anyone I actually want to meet, and now this person falls "out of my dreams and into my car" so to speak, and I'm not even going to say a single word to him?!

So I fucking did it. I talked to him. About secularism and the profane aspects of the sacred, mind you, but talk we did -- and he got my e-address so he can e-mail me a bibliography re. secularism and we can trade notes / sources, since we are interested in related areas of religious studies. Holy fuck what a nerd.

I had sex w/ the "roommate" today.

Sometimes I feel guilty.

pansycline at 5:19 p.m.

previous | next