2005-02-21

Brrrrrrn it all.

This in response to an inquiry by lilmo, since I think it's possibly of general interest. At least it's of general interest to me, and for X's sake, I have to write something in here! (man, html sort of disrupts the flow of writing.):
I have come to the conclusion that the dream geek - who, incidentally never did e-mail me the bibliography... clearly he has a crush on me - is less a real-life bollywood romance opportunity than a reminder that dreams, though crazy, are not unrelated to our (supposedly) waking moments and that there are things available to us that can help us live w/ more awareness. and I think that means better. and anyways, really, as you all kindly pointed out, the guy did have the classic high-pitched nerd voice! how far could things have ever gotten?! even if, I must add, I could ever freeze my heart enough to walk out on one of the nicest guys the universe has produced. that 'L' word turns my lips numb, but that's just because i'm skeptical through and through and beyond.

before I go back to raking in the cashola, here is the quote of the week (which I have already shared w/ Cherry via telephone, but a repeat won't kill her):


"Impenetrable mysteries surround us on all sides; they are above the region accessible to the senses. We believe we possess intelligence for piercing these mysteries, but all we have is imagination. [that's my favorite part, but the next line is] Through this imaginary world each blazes a trail he believes to be good."
-- Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Emile, or On Education, 1762

Of course, later in the thing, this same guy spouts such angrifying hippy nonsense as: "Take away our fatal progress, take away our errors and our vices, take away the work of man, and everything is good." But in the end, he makes great points, and so the integrity of the first quote is, in my mind, maintained. I suppose even if I disagreed w/ him that wouldn't necessarily affect the integrity of the quote -- I just wouldn't have told you about it. i.e. I would have censored Rousseau.
jesus, why don't I just go burn down the library.

pansycline at 6:32 p.m.

previous | next