2005-02-27

oma 'n opa

This morning I was thinking about [god there's a horribly obnoxious and self-righteous diaryland banner on my screen right now: "I have learned to embrace my imperfections... Have you learned to embrace yours?" no I've learned to project my imperfections onto you. fuck off asshole.] how things that are so natural and normal to you when you're a kid become foreign. In particular I was thinking about the words 'opa' and 'oma' - the dutch for grandpa and grandma - and how they feel funny coming out of my mouth now, when it used to feel awkward to say anything but that when talking to my grandparents. what nice insular worlds we have the luxury of when we're kids. don't know anything else and it doesn't even really occur to you that, in this case, you're not even speaking english.
mamama.
can I universalize and say that part of growing up is realizing the smallness of your own world? or does this just come out of that part of my own self that likes to see new things. hmm. I can't believe I just wrote 'growing up' w/o quotes around it. Let me try again: can I universalize and say that part of "growing up" is realizing the smallness of your own world?
god I hate grownups
Oh yah this morning I also made a mental note to say 'I hate' less. I was seriously considering my potential for murder last night.
I don't think I could do it. Still.

pansycline at 1:40 p.m.

previous | next