2005-10-28

I think I'm Embarassed to Say that This actually Is characteristic Of me.

Ok, I'm going to do this because I'm itching to update and I was going to write a special edition of this adventure for dland only, but times-a-speedin' on by, full o' hijinx et "whatnot" and soon my dusty trails will have eliminated this from my memory box and I will have not shared it with y'all. So, what I'm doing, is copy and pasting this from 'myspace', where I posted it a few days ago.

Mild apologies to those faithful pals who read both of my nerdspaces. As Vedder would say, "this is not for you."
And, hit it:
"Ok, I can unfortunately only give small details of my last days of adventure as what I am supposed to be doing right now is called grading 175 midterms. 175 midterms. Sounds like the beginnning of a haiku.

But, in my absence from here, life had arrived! I hung out with my friend J.R. for about 5 days in Montreal, during which we drank heavily every night and attempted to see some sights during the day. I think that went pretty well. On the second last night we went to see Cut Copy, from Australia, at the Sala Rossa and hooked up with the Whitey Houston, and Shout Out Out Out Out and R and A and I met another lady, whose name is Alexis and who seems radical and who I am supposed to call for Halloween but probably won't, due to the lameness of my situation having said "fuck it" to the 175 midterms, for 5 days that I could have been grading them for.

Instead, I left town the day after the day after Cut Copy, with WH and SOOOO, which was also the day after they played here. Having danced the night away before, I was ready for more. I conveniently hitched a ride with them to Toronto, to hook up with my bosoms buddy, Gigi. ahhh.

Between MO and TO was Ottawa, where the dancing was getting pretty good -- it is there that I switched to Manhattans, following a fortuitous drink experiment at a Thai restaurant. That became the drink for the rest of the weekend, and, I think, it is now my drink for life. Ok, at least for a while. Whiskey, sweet vermouth and bitters?! Can it get cooler? or tastier? or manly-womanly-er? I thought not.

Then came the TO and the Gigi and the magic. Oh the magic. I had so much fun I hardly want to write it down. Gigi got banned from the bar for stupid reasons right when we first went to go in, so we went to a different bar down the street, to ponder over Manhattans. As we sat deliberating out plan, a friend of hers came up to deliver a red beret for her Halloween costume. As we stared at it, our eyes lit up -- a plan had formed! Off came her sequined bomber jacket and blue glittering scarf, on with my zip up black sweater and black scarf. Out with her pony tail, hair over the face, beret on, trade cowboy boots for sneakers, eyes lowered, voice soft, shoulders slumped... and in she went!! whoop!! quel triumph.

Oh how I love incognito.

And from that point in it was beers and high kicks non-stop -- well, after the Manhattans that we had snuck in in a bottle. Delishuss! Both of us threw our shirts onstage during Shout Out Out Out Out, Gigi sprained her thumb trying to drunken breakdance, we both sustained bruised arms from using them as the bar for highkick challenges, I have massively bruised legs from the general rough housing and I think I may have peed my pants. After the bar we went to Gigi's boyfriends where I definitely spilled a drink down my shirt. Then we played drinking foozball until 8am.

Best. Night. Ever.

For the 2 nights after that we were dead broke and exhausted so we stayed home and watched cable. And I had some more Manhattans.

And that will be all for now.

If you ever have the chance to see Whitey Houston, or Shout Out Out Out Out and are itching for a wildass partytime, then GO!!! You might pee your pants, and you might like it."

The end.

pansycline at 9:25 p.m.

previous | next