2006-06-19

who am I?

It's as though my neighbours can sense when I am about to start working.

I finished checking my email and the news and bloglands, which took about an hour, and had just turned my mind to getting out the notes and things. And the very instant I tensed my body to get out of this chair and act on the impulse to work (maybe "impulse" is the wrong word here, really. How about "knowledge of certain doom if I don't work, giving me negatively -reinforced incentive"), it started: "doot.doot. doot. doot.doot. doot. doot.doot."

The sweet ass latino drumbeat that my neighbours love, more than sanity itself.

Now I will do an experiment, because usually once it starts, it goes for at least an hour or two, during which time I am trying to be all "zen" about it, pretend it's just an environmental noise, part of the general inoffensive urban soundscape. Today, however, it went for only about a minute -- it stopped the very second that my thoughts turned from work to writing this diary entry.

Now I will go back to working. Let's see how it goes.
Oh my. It's 11:11. The omens are gathering.

Hm. I just heard them leave.
Theory discarded.

In other news, a riddle:
the sun is very far away, but I still feel hot.
I don't like fans, but I need a breeze.
I try not to be superstitious, but sometimes I can't help it.
I wonder if there's a big difference between being judgmental and being constructively critical.
Who am I?

pansycline at 10:53 a.m.

previous | next