2005-08-03

Motivation, or, In My Imagination It Is Easy to Work and I Enjoy It.

Every day (almost) I wake up and think about stuff and what I'm doing and how my life is going. And often, this concludes with me fantasizing about my next tattoo, or flying to Europa, or buying kitchen tables and swingin' furniture and chandeliers. And I think, how can I ever get all these exciting things I want? And I answer, Money!! And then I think, despairingly, oh, I'll never get money... why isn't there some money in my mailbox... where will I EVER get money for my dream delights? And I lay there, wounded, hopeless, with tattered dreams sinking around my neck... for a while (about 10 seconds). And then I remember. Work! I can simply, Work! and then, I will get money!

And so I leap out of bed, determined and excited to work work work, all day long with nary a break or snack, so that I can get lots and lots and lots of MONEY!!!

But first, I have to check my e-mail, and myspace, and dland, and the news. And then I better check my email again since I need to eat some breakfast before I can possibly start working.

And then before I know it, it's the early afternoon and there's no WAY I'll fit in 8 hours of work that day! Besides, it's far too hot.

Try and try again.
Maybe I should make myself a motivational poster. It worked for finishing my B.A. My motivational poster consisted of a piece of looseleaf taped to the kitchen window next to the table I was writing my final paper at night after night all night. It read, in blue pencil crayon: CDs!! Beer!! Money!! Holiday!! Sleep!! and a few other things that somehow kept me going.

Today's motivational poster would read: Pay Visa!! Pay Mom and Dad!! Table!! Hand-held mixer!! Martha Nussbaum!! Tuition!! Chocolate bars!! Couch!!

Yup, I'm gonna need a bigger piece of paper.

pansycline at 9:43 a.m.

previous | next