2004-11-19

lying to the medicine man

Check this out. I went to the doctor this morning to renew my prescription, and he thinks I'm too skinny!! Asked me if I was menstruating!
Do you see me? I asked him to myself. Good lord, I'm no where near the state of menstruation-ending. I wish! God, I hate the period.
He's suspicious that I'm anorexic and don't know it. I reassured him that it's just because I don't drink beer.
He asked me if I drink at all and I lied and said only on Saturdays. I almost lied twice, but then thought better of it. Actually, I did sort of lie about my height. But I was close enough. I hate saying the 'and three-quarters' part, and I'm sure it doesn't matter anyhow.
Last time I updated I hit the enter button and got the "server WAY overloaded screen". What a pissoff. I know they're just trying to egg me into getting a gold membership. Whall it's not gonna work!!
I think I might be a neo-marxist.
I'm doing a book review about practices and assumptions of consumption (it irritates me that those words rhyme) in the Left Behind series' first novel... because the whole existence of the series and spinoff products implies a certain approach to consuming. And I was right, mindless consumption is rampant in the book. What makes me think I'm a neo-marxist is I realized I was doing sort of a class analysis of the characters, wherein the "good guys" are upper middle class, and the "bad guys" are ultra-wealthy. I was trying to think of where the idea of economic class comes from, so I could support my argument about these characters, and I realized it comes from Marx, and I also realized that the "bad guys" are in fact the modern aristocracy/nobility. How perfect!! I hope I can fit this into my paper.
Nerdz 4-eva.

pansycline at 1:21 p.m.

previous | next