2005-04-07

eye hearts nerds

azh uzhuwull, I'm not working though I ought to be. Still, I made a new discovery tonight. Hot soy milk will not curdle when hot earl grey tea is poured into it. I repeat: HOT SOY MILK WILL NOT CURDLE WHEN HOT EARL GREY TEA IS POURED INTO IT!!!!

In other earth-shattering news, I left my house today. And on the metro on the way home I encountered a duo of the best nerd specimens I've seen in a long time!! I love nerds!

These were the computer variety and one was even eating a metro-mini-sized bag of doritos! I should really be trying to draw this to convey the perfection of the stereotypes standing before me, but words will have to do today. The one eating doritos had a brush cut and a five-o'clock shadow of unconsciously-picked at acne, wore those giant basketball nikes and was making fun of everything his friend said. The friend was much bigger [honestly, he was fat, though I hate to call such cute nerds fat] and was wearing khakis and a backpack and glasses. He had squinty eyes and pursed little lips and kept punctuating their extended silences with things like, "Does he have the CDs?" to which his friend would respond derisively.

At Berri station I followed them to the next train where they met ANOTHER PERFECT SPECIMEN!! He too was wearing Nike flotillas, even bigger than the first pair! He also had a brush cut, the requisite acne-that-could-be-gone-if-you-would-just-stop-touching-it, and glasses. He also had the classic nerd grin and laugh -- actually so did the khaki-panted guy -- made famous by our favorite movie Revenge of the Nerds.

I followed them onto the next car, but couldn't hear their conversation without being too conspicuous [i.e. without standing in their little talky circle and staring at them]. Still, I was thrilled and inspired.

Other than that, it was sunny. Two spiders were murdered in my house in about 5 minutes. Time to erect a new spider effigy. Clearly the month-old deterrent is too-old.

pansycline at 12:41 a.m.

previous | next