2005-06-29

house hunting is the pits.

PT. II
I have been sitting around my house doing fuck all for about 3 hours now. I'm going to see an apartment today. Again. This will be the third one. The first one was a tiny little shoebox for almost $600/month, and it stank and had low ceilings... but there's a swimming pool in the building. Yah, right, thanks, so I can go and be ogled by old men? yuck, take a bath.

The second one was better -- supposedly a one-room. Ok, it was a one-room, but it was so tiny...! Am I being unrealistic? I just want a place upstairs with windows that doesn't feel like a prison cell. I can see in my head what I want... just some sort of texture to the place. A corner, or a slanted ceiling, or a bigger window, or a step... something like that. The second place could be kind of neat. It's in a good location, and the bedroom has a sliding door to a teeny tiny back yard. But it's so narrow I could almost touch two walls with my arms stretched. And it's ground level, which I think would end up creeping me out.

I know it's not even August yet, but I'm not liking this. I'm not excited about moving right now.

Today I'm going to see one that's on a fourth floor near McGill. In my imagination it's on the fourth floor of a four-storey building... but it's probably a closet in a highrise with a toilet installed.

I think I'm going to have to invest in the pay rental listings. They are apparently incredible and you get to see the ads before anyone else in the city (who doesn't pay).

pansycline at 2:21 p.m.

previous | next