2005-10-13

Now You're Gone. You're Not the Only One.

Yesterday at school some people were standing around with boxes and signs and bullhorns collecting money for relief for the earthquake in Kashmir -- but they kept yelling about 2 million people dead. This isn't true! 24,000, yes, but not 2 million.

Maybe they meant, 2 million affected. I hope they're there again today. Otherwise they're nuts -- they should pay more attention to paydays at Concordia if they really want to grab the cash. Then again, it's raining.

Canadian gov't, apparently, is matching every dollar donated to relief. I think that's a good tactic.

One thing I have to admit: I did have a few bucks in my pocket yesterday, but in the back of my head -- well, ok, right in the front of it -- I thought, 'how in the world do I know you guys aren't just scamming everybody? You guys with your boxes with pictures of earthquakes glued on, and homemade signs, and no organization name...'.

Sometimes I feel guilty for being suspicious, but not usually. Because, I'm actually kind of a sucker, so if I'm suspicious... well, I don't know. I could be wrong.

Ain't it great being right inside my thought processes? If I can really confer the honor of 'thought' onto the above paragraph.

Hot summer streets and the pavements are burning, I sit around. Trying to smile but the air is so heavy and dry. Strange voices are saying, things I can't understand...

pansycline at 12:13 p.m.

previous | next