2005-11-08

Somewhat Circular

I just got off the phone from talking with my little sister.
She is very religious. This seems to leapfrog sisters in my family, though I'm not sure on the status of the younger.
For the most part it was a good conversation until we got around to the Catholic church and her understanding that a)they place the pope higher than God, and b)they change what the Bible says; which she knows because c)gay marriage is now allowed in the Catholic church, and d)the Bible says that homosexuality is wrong and that e)gay people will go to hell.
Even though she couldn't respond very well to my argument that just because she thinks something is gross doesn't mean that it's morally wrong (ex. butt sex -- not all gay men do it, I know, but my question to her, is it wrong if a man and lady do it? was answered with her opinion that it's disgusting. haha, her poor future husband.), I left the discussion feeling mad and sad.

I asked her what she would think if I were gay. And she told me that there's nothing she could do about it, I'd be going to hell. And I asked her how she could believe that, and she said that it doesn't matter what she believes, that's the way it is.

And how do you argue against that?

pansycline at 5:26 p.m.

previous | next