2005-06-23

something is swirling and it might be my stomach

I know this must mean something:

I can't get the song "Let's Spend the Night Together" by the Rolling Stones, out of my head. Maybe it's not helping that I indulge myself by listening to it when I realize I've been hearing it for hours, but that's beside the point.

Last night I went to a 'Save CBGB' benefit, which involved 6 local bands covering 2/3 songs each by bands that (purportedly -- my roommate argues fervently that the Velvet Underground "never did" "are you sure" "yeah, no way they broke up way before CBGB" "well who cares they inspired all that stuff anyways") played there in the 70s heyday of the place.

The highlight of the night was that there was this blonde woman running around, looking frazzled -- because, of course, the bar hadn't provided the drum kit that they said they would, and so the show was a couple of hours late starting as artists fumbled around trying to slap together a drum kit... because, 6 bands don't have one each?
So ANYWAYS, this blonde lady -- I thought she worked at the bar, because to be honest, and by honest I mean sort of mean, but this is what I was thinking: she really was unattractive (in the conventional way, but wait there's more coming) and a bit older and... cross-eyed. ok? there, I said it. And the bar was staffed by really nice, but older and a bit "worn" looking people. So, that's why I thought she worked there.

But anyways, finally they get the drums, and the band is about ready to start, and I look over and there is that woman, dressed now in a zip-up PVC mini-dress!! holy shit! I said to myself. But still had no clue - I just thought she decided to change.

Then she gets on stage, introduces the night, and the band starts, and she busts out singing and oh my god -- she was SO GOOD!! The first song was 'Landlord' by the Police, and the second song was that telephone song by Blondie. And fuck she was right exactly on. And suddenly she was transformed, in my mind, into a totally hot older woman! Which made me pretty happy, because a) she defies the retarded cliche / rule that all girls in bands are cute, young, unclassy and b) once again, it is shown that doing something you love transforms you and you have to do what you know you want to do and not what other people seem to think you would be suited for.
-- Choir singing, clouds open, light pours down and we are all levitated to the skies with the enlightenment provided by this insane revelatory moment. --
-- the universe can thank me later.

***
oh yeah and the other thing: this girl I don't know got introduced to me for the express purpose of being able to tell me I'm "beautiful" and "stunning". It was a nice compliment, I felt warm -- but at the same time, I always think, who fucking cares -- I don't DO anything!

pansycline at 1:58 p.m.

previous | next