2005-05-24

muffins & metaphors

I made muffins just now and once again in my great excitement for the taste test, I ripped one apart instead of letting it settle and cool in the pan for 10 whole minutes.

I'm thinking this is a good metaphor for other habits -- for example my habit of running off at the mouth to people about ideas the very second they pop into my head, rather than wait until they settle down a bit so I can sift the silly from the possible. Not that silly = impossible, but it requires even more thinking through so that you can communicate it without coming across as a shallow cross-eyed terrier poodle.

Also, this is not to say that I think necessarily I should "from here on in expulse this habit from my life, aspire to greater seriousness, and have only safely boundaried interactions with people with whom I have carefully cultivated respectfully mediocre relationships".

After all, now that I ripped the lid off this muffin, it's ready for me to eat already!!

pansycline at 2:31 p.m.

previous | next