2005-08-29

Holidaying Canadian Makes Foray Into Cyber Homeland

So here I am in the midst of my holiday. One moment where I have no one to visit with, as I am the only person awake so far today.

I keep noticing, when meandering through dland or myspace, that not only am I away from my physical home in Montreal, I am also completely on holiday from my mental state when I am there. It feels somewhat odd, because all the things that I would use to preoccupy my thoughts on the metro or while doing dishes or getting groceries (i.e. mundane/domestic things) have not been in my thoughts at all. No Johnny Chicago, no Bouli-cat, no composition and essay-style discipline of the stories I tell myself. I like it.

I wonder, though, if this means that I only entertain myself with those things because I am desperately bored and lonely, or because that is who I am when I am not hanging out with my hilarious screaming drinking dancing friends at all times.

I feel pretty content at my own home, too. I think, actually, that I would probably die if I moved back here.

***
In other news, there is a lot of news, of which this entry can only contain a teaser since I have to go right away to help my youngest sister move into residence at the same university I went to. (Her first year! Awww. She's so dead. heheheh. just kidding. I don't even really know what I meant by that.)

The latest news involves fishnets, high heels, maid uniforms and old lady pink panties. Oh, also, karaoke.

Karaoke seems to be the theme of dirtcity this visit. I went to a spaghetti western play at the Fringe that culminated in a karaoke showdown wherein the Indian spiritual guide saved the day by stealing the bad guy's voice a la that Kids in the Hall character, "Crusha! a-Crusha! a-Crusha-crusha-crusha!"

pansycline at 10:06 a.m.

previous | next