2005-09-09

Some Sleep, Some Cat Vomit, Night Court

I am tired today! But damn I accomplished a multitude of things.

Last night the cat kept waking me up, first scratching on a magazine on the floor, then mewing in a pitiful way. So the first time I woke up and muttered fitfully at him, and threw a pair of pants onto the magazine so he wouldn't play with it anymore.
Then the second time he sounded so pathetic I called him over and he slept with me the rest of the night.

Then in the morning I got up and there was a pile of puked up catfood on the rug. Poor Bouli! I said, and cleaned it up.

I had slept in due to the sick and scratchy cat, so I grabbed my pants off the magazine quickly and went to take a shower. As I was picking them up to put them on, I noticed a big wet spot on the leg and some brown crumby mush. I went out to investigate and what do you know, in my hazy state the 'scratching' I had put an end to was actually the 'retching' up of a giant hairball. Mm-mm.

So now I'm going out tonight for some drinks with a total stranger and all of my clothes smell either like catpuke, fire, or like I've been wearing them since Monday. Well. At least my pants. And all the shirts I don't hate are in the laundry, absorbing up their various smells into one big yummy vat of general 'not clean'-ness.

Plus my pits are stubbly and somewhat "blemished", eliminating the tried and true "just a wife beater" look. Though I guess bleeding hairy pits go pretty good with a stained up wife beater. Mmm. Bleeding pits. I hope whoever's reading this is about to go on a dinner date. Mind if I talk about pus? How 'bout that rash?

I hope tonight doesn't suck balls. There's always a 50 50 chance that hanging out with a stranger will be super fun and nonstop conversation since you don't know each other at all, or that your modes of communication are so different that a conversation can't get rolling at all. I guess that's what beer is for.

I'll keep you posted.

Have I mentioned that I love being single? Cuz I do.

***
One more thing.
You know those visions you get of your future life, when you're daydreaming about where you want to be later in life? Mine are always just glimpses of a sunny kitchen, a cat, and a shelf of plants -- and I just noticed, reflected in the computer screen, that I'm in the middle of it!

Altogether now: Hoo HA!

pansycline at 5:43 p.m.

previous | next