2006-05-05

uninspired shit shooting

Welp, I haven't been very inspired for blogging lately. Could it be that my thesis is dragging on and on and on and siphoning away my will to live life to the most bountiful fullness? possibly. I have been going in the sun on every single possible day, though. I think the Vitamin D is really perking me up!! Whoa, what if my personality became "perky"? I would have to take strong and definitive action against that. Start by reading some non-fiction about Africa and/or contemporary slave labor, then move on to a little Camus or Sartre, and right on in to Margaret Atwood and Danielle Steele. That ought to suck the "perk" right back out.

Anyhose, I actually did something besides study and type yesterday, so I thought I'd TELL THE WORLD!! That's right.
I went out to a rock show.
The first entry was a marvelous specimen of multi-layered sandstone...

harhar.

[fast-breaking news story!! I just got a call from the person who I am going to woo back to my arms through great friendship... it's over with that girl! Yes!! He's sad, and I feel bad for him that he got rejected (which really makes very little sense, since I dumped his ass like crazy), but it's a relief to me. I'm kind of a big baby, hey. I should really be able to let the guy like another girl without freaking out. le sigh. one day I'll grow up. And then it will be BORING!!]

yeah, the rock show --- BBQ, honey & lies, the Suppressors. Suppressors = awesome; the drummer was like a monkey with a mullet! honey & lies = soso velvet underground influenced but not clean enough to be as good or around as good. songs too much all the same. low energy. BBQ = started out fantastic! The guy can sing like a motherlover!! But, somehow he turned into a little princess and quit playing after 15 minute because not enough people were dancing. What a dick! There were barely any people there, most of them were scenesters there specifically to suck HIS cock, and he pulls this shit. Probably knowing that no one he knows would have the balls to tell him it is retarded, because he is apparently the coolest person in all of Montreal and the universe.

Anyways. Shake it off, shake it off.

I went to the show by myself, and so knew not a single person there, except a few by sight from record stores and other shows, but not enough to talk to them. I remember I used to always go to shows by myself before I moved here, and I didn't care -- but I think that the difference was that there was a good possibility that a couple of people I knew would show up. Here, I know no one, so that possibility is very small. It's usually no big deal, but last night was vaguely uncomfortable, because almost every single person there was in the montreal "scene"; either in a band, or running a record store, or whatever, or multiples of those things. i.e. basically I walked in on a publicly advertised circle jerk. Is that mean? Maybe I seem like a snob, and that's why I don't meet people. oh well.

I smoked the smokes and beered the beer and it was good to get out of the house. And the bar owner bought me a beer! Because he felt sorry for me, I suppose, but it was nice of him.
yargh, I can't believe I haven't had coffee yet today.

pansycline at 12:28 p.m.

previous | next