2006-05-23

coffee cafeine cafe

Why is it that after my alarm goes off and I am lying in bed trying to get excited about being awake, I succeed at that quite well and actually end up lying there feeling pretty pumped about all the work and shit I'm going to get done today, but then I get up and, somewhere between eating a banana and making the coffee, all that carefully cultivated inspiration leaks away? Is it because my house is messy? Can I blame the weather? The rain? The fact that I have to make coffee instead of it being ready for me already when I walk into the kitchen, which would really help to support my sense of domination over the day?

I think it is this last thing more than anything. I have a reusable coffee filter and when I walk into the kitchen in my housecoat, feeling like the president in mink, it's kind of a sad jolt of humiliation to have to peel the wet cold filter out of the basket and dump out yesterday's grinds, and then rinse out a spoon from the sink and scrape off the grinds that stick to the filter, so that they don't plug the drain. This gets cold coffee grinds all over my fingers and I really hate that feeling, and by the end of it my ermine housecoat sleeves have gotten under the taps somehow, and I have coffee in my slipper and I realize that I have to do the dishes at some point in my high-powered "shitz under control" executive-like work day.

So, am I going to start prepping the coffee pot in the evenings? Maybe once or twice before it gets boring. Or, maybe this is a new leaf that I will successfully turn over!

Something else... oh yeah. Yesterday I was at my friends' house at breakfast time and we made crepes. I was reaching over the table for the syrup because I'm a mongoloid who doesn't know how to ask for things to be passed to me, and they have these old rolly chairs from the 70s or 80s, and I was leaning forward and suddenly I realized that the chair was rolling out from under me and in fact it rolled all the way out from under me and I fell onto the floor under the table. It was very very strange, and I felt like a big pig because it was my ardent desire for syrup that caused my fall. And now I have a big turquoise and purple bruise under my arm where it scraped along the table edge as I met my demise. Crepes are good, though, and now I know how to make them!

pansycline at 11:04 a.m.

previous | next